White Envelope

Second play assignment for CW class. The complication for this one was that the characters meet again one year after the elevator incident and find out that they are related. Also, we had to include one prop, and one of the characters is dying of a terminal illness (idk why my professor chose that, but he did so I had to basically kill one of my characters… I am NOT HAPPY!!). Plus, we could only write three pages which is why this one is so rushed. I wish he had let us make it longer, I could have worked wonders on this play, but c’est la vie.


WHITE ENVELOPE

CHARACTERS

GABRIEL, 20  year old reformed petty thief

ALEX, 19 year old student at Stanford Law School.

SETTING

The backyard of GABRIEL’S childhood home.

Lights up to reveal GABRIEL, a reformed petty thief, walking around

the backyard of his childhood home, greeting his half-brother’s guests to

the wedding reception. ALEX, a law school student, is next in

line to be greeted, a white envelop in hand.

GABRIEL

Well, isn’t this a surprise. Haven’t seen you in a while.

ALEX

(Surprised—and a little suspicious) Are you following me?

(GABRIEL snickers and motions for ALEX to follow

him to the other end of the yard.)

GABRIEL

(As they walk) I should be asking you that. This is my brother’s wedding, after all.

ALEX

Nice try. Are you here to steal the gifts? Pretty sure it’s bad luck to steal wedding presents, Gabe.

GABRIEL

(Waving his comment away) Nah, I don’t do that anymore. It’s just not really worth it anymore, you know? And it really is my brother’s wedding, man.

ALEX

(Slowly) No… it’s my brother’s wedding.

(Both young men stare at one another for a minute before

bursting out laughing.)

ALEX

Half-brother?

GABRIEL

Half-brother.

ALEX

(Tapping his leg with the white envelope) I’m glad I know who the other half is, at least. Does that mean we’re related in some way?

GABRIEL

In some way. What is that, anyway?

ALEX

(Raising the envelope) Wedding present. Didn’t have time to give it to the bride and groom earlier, figured I’d drop it off before I leave. Parties aren’t really my thing.

GABRIEL

What’d you get them that’s small enough to fit in there?

ALEX

Plane tickets to Greece. Our brother’s always—

GABRIEL

Saying he wants to visit. So do I, to be honest.

ALEX

(Chuckling) More like whining, but yeah, who doesn’t? What did you get them?

GABRIEL

A chance to spend more time with me.

ALEX

Well, someone’s conceited.

GABRIEL

Yeah, it seems ridiculous. I kept telling our bro that I could just give him what he needed to finish paying for the new house, but he said he rather I just visit them as often as I can, for as long as I can.

ALEX

(After a pause) For as long as you can?

GABRIEL

(Shaking his head) Right, you don’t know. I’m so used to everyone knowing, it’s weird now when someone doesn’t. I’m dying.

ALEX

(Stunned) I’m sorry, what?

GABRIEL

I’m dying. A few weeks after the whole elevator incident last year, my doctor found a tumor.

(ALEX watches GABRIEL in silence for a few minutes, the

tapping of the envelope against his leg coming faster.)

ALEX

Tumors, they… they can cure those, though.

GABRIEL

(Shaking his head) Not this one. Too close to my heart. They’re afraid I won’t wake up.

ALEX

(Stammering) B-but… You still owe me that pizza!

GABRIEL

(After a second of stunned silence) I’m sorry, what?

ALEX

(Desperately) I… You never did buy me that pizza, you ordered Chinese! So you can’t die without buying me pizza!

GABRIEL

(Chuckling and putting on his coat from where it was draped on his arm) Alright, let’s go.

ALEX

Wait! I don’t want it from here.

GABRIEL

Where from, then?

(ALEX raises the white envelope and hands it over to

GABRIEL, who smiles softly before nodding.)

GABRIEL

Let’s go, then.

ALEX

Let’s go.

END OF PLAY


Funny story, two of my friends found out they were somehow related the same way that Gabriel and Alex did. So my friend A went to my friend K’s house, and she saw her half brother there, and she was like ‘why is my brother at your house?’ and K was like ‘Cuz he’s my brother…’ and so ta-da! They share a half brother.

End of funny story.

Yeah.

Leave a Reply

