Rule Of Thumb

So for my CW class, I was assigned to write a play, something that I had never done before. So this is the first play that I have ever written, so yay! Anyway, the complication that he gave us was that our characters had to be trapped in an elevator, so this is what I came up with.


RULE OF THUMB

CHARACTERS

GABRIEL, 19 year old petty thief

ALEX, 18 year old student at Stanford Law School.

SETTING

Elevator in Gabriel’s and ALEX’s building.

Lights up to reveal GABRIEL, a petty thief, running towards

the elevator as the doors begin to close. ALEX, a

law student from Stanford, holds the doors open. Both

stand in silence as the doors close. A few minutes later, the elevator

stops and the emergency lights light up.

GABRIEL

Well, this is just great.

(ALEX watches GABRIEL from the corner of his eye,

clutching his laptop closer to himself when GABRIEL

takes out a cigarette from his leather jacket and lights it up.)

GABRIEL (CONT.)

(After noticing ALEX’s reaction) Dude, I ain’t gonna rob you, chill.

ALEX

(Stammering) I-I know.

(ALEX relaxes his hold on his laptop and straightens,

coughing to cover up his embarrassment.)

ALEX (CONT.)

So, uh… You, uh… You live here or…?

GABRIEL

Yeah. Fifth floor, 5B. How about you? I’m pretty sure I’ve seen you around, walking with your head stuck in a book, usually. I’m Gabriel, by the way.

ALEX

(Nodding) I’m… I’m Alex. Uh… yes… fifth floor as well. I… I’ve heard about you, then.

(ALEX covers his mouth with his hands, regretting

his words when GABRIEL turns his steely eyes

his way.)

GABRIEL

And what, pray tell, have you heard about me?

ALEX

(Stammering and backing away towards the corner of the elevator) Uh… J-just that you… you know… Y-you’re a criminal. Not that there’s anything wrong with that! Or, well, I mean, th-there is, obviously, but to each their own.

GABRIEL

(Narrowing his eyes but not moving towards the cowering teen.) Damn right. But I already told you, man, I ain’t gonna rob you. Anyway, I need a favor, neighbor to neighbor. Something to make up the fact that there was no welcome committee when I moved in.

ALEX

(Hesitantly) What do you need?

GABRIEL

An alibi.

ALEX

(Hyperventilating) Oh, God. Oh, my God, YOU MURDERED SOMEONE! Oh, GOD!

(ALEX starts banging on the elevator doors.)

ALEX (CONT.)

Help! Somebody help me! Get me out of here!

(Behind ALEX, GABRIEL laughs loudly, doubling over and clutching his stomach.)

GABRIEL

Man, you watch way too much CSI! (He continues snickering as he talks.) I didn’t kill anyone. Never have, probably never will, but you never know.

ALEX

(Slowly lowering his fists from the doors.) Then what is the alibi for?

GABRIEL

I pissed some people off, so they stole my money. Naturally, I stole it back.

ALEX

Naturally. So what is the alibi for? I mean, if they stole it from you, I seriously doubt they’ll go to the police.

GABRIEL

Rule of thumb. Always have an alibi.

ALEX

(Unconvinced) If you say so…

GABRIEL

I do. So how about that alibi?

ALEX

If you promise not to steal anything…

(Elevator starts again, emergency lights turning off and

elevator moves again, stopping again only when it

reaches the fifth floor.)

GABRIEL

Scout’s honor.

ALEX

I seriously doubt you were ever a scout. But alright, come on. You’re paying for the pizza, though.

GABRIEL

Naturally.

END OF PLAY


Sorry for the weird format, it didn’t want to copy the same way I had it on Word.

So yeah, that’s the first play I’ve ever written. Not too shabby, huh?

Leave a Reply

