Money Matters

Leo and Will are back!


           “You lying, cheating, good for nothing—”

“Hey, hey! No need for that, kid. Now how about you tell me what this is about?”

Leo narrowed his dark eyes at the blond.

“What this is about?! What this is about?!”

His eye twitched.

“Yes. Now out with it, Leo, before you pop a vessel.”

“Stop being so chill about everything! I’m angry! At least pretend to be a little more… worried!”

“Leo, you’re a 5’4 ball of fury, of course I’m worried. I just rather people not see a 6 feet tall adult cowering because of an eighteen year old who’s trying to glare him to death.”

“I am not trying to glare you to death!” came the indignant response. “I just want you to give me my money back.”

“What money?!”

“Don’t sound so suspicious. My money, the one I lent you so you could buy your sister her birthday dress. Remember that?”

Will threw his arms up in the air, clearly exasperated.

“I totally paid you back!”

“Will, giving me five dollars does not count as paying me back!”

“It totally does! It was all I had in my wallet and you said it was fine!”

The glare intensifies.

“I said no such thing.”

“You totally need to stop using that serial killer voice, because it implies my body will never be found, and to be quite frankly, that makes me nervous.”

“Don’t try to change the subject, Will. You’re a twenty four year old man, act like it.”

Will narrowed his eyes at him.

“I thought I was. I know for a fact that you said I could give you those five dollars instead of the whole thing. So not my fault if you decided to forget about that. You know, that happened once before to this friend of mine. He borrowed money from some random guy and paid him back a little less than what he owed him, but the dude said that was fine and then apparently forgot he had said that, so he decided to send someone to beat my friend up.”

Leo’s eyebrows seemed to try their darn best to reach his hairline.

“I am so lost. You think I’m going to send someone to beat you up?”

“No, I’m pretty sure you’ll do it yourself.”

The guys stared at each other, looking confused.

“I have no idea what just happened, but you still owe me thirty bucks.”

“Dude, take pity on me. I’m a twenty four year old man supporting his whole family, younger siblings included, who just wanted to buy his baby sister a birthday dress. I really don’t have thirty bucks on me right now. And come on, you’re loaded! You don’t need my money!”

Leo muttered something under his breath, causing Will to bend closer to him.

“What?”

“Nothing.”

“Tell me, Leo.”

The teenager sighed.

“I said, this book I really wanted came out today but my parents don’t wanna give me any money for it. That’s what I need the money for.”

“Well, I need it to buy food. Pretty sure my reason beats yours.”

The glare, as impossible as it might sound, intensified even more.

“But it’s my money. Pretty sure that trumps your reason.”

Will sighed, knowing this argument would get them nowhere.

“Have you never heard of downloading books online?”

His comment was met with silence.

“Isn’t that illegal?”

Will shrugged.

“Maybe. But it also means I get to eat, and you get to read your book.”

Leo still didn’t look too convinced.

“Come on, kid. Give me a break here. If you forget about those thirty bucks, I even promise to buy you ice cream when I get paid.”

“Ice cream? ICE CREAM?!” was the incredulous response. “Do I seem like a ten year old to you?”

“Do you really want me to answer that? And what does ice cream have to do with ten year olds? I’m in my twenties and I would literally do anything for ice cream.”

“But that’s a completely different story, though. You’re more of a ten year old than I am.”

Will scoffed.

“You say that like it’s a bad thing. You need to relax, man. Live a little. Download books in a not so legal way, eat ice cream, smile every once in a while. I promise it won’t kill you.”

From the looks Leo shot him, could tell he disagreed.

Will rolled his eyes and put his hand on Leo’s shoulder.

“Come on, kid. I’m buying you ice cream.”

Leo’s reply came as they walked away.

“I’m still not forgetting about those thirty dollars.”

Leave a Reply

