Chased

More flash fiction.


I ran through the forest as fast as I could, jumping over rocks and dodging branches. I could hear them behind me, never stopping. They weren’t even breathing hard. I, on the other hand, felt as if my lungs would burst. They were fast, and they were strong, while I wasn’t. The only thing I had going for me right now? I knew these woods better than the back of my hand. The only thing that kept me going? I had Ethan and Caleb waiting for me, ready to trap the creatures that followed me.

I almost fell flat on my face, but somehow I was able to keep running. But it slowed me down enough for me to feel their teeth brushing against my calf. I heard them snarl in frustration when I slipped away.

A few more minutes. I could make it.

I pushed myself even harder, running as if my life depended on it, which I guess it did.

Behind me, the werewolves howled when I gained speed.

Uh oh. I knew that howl. They were calling for back up.

They would kill me. They wouldn’t turn me. They never turned Hunters. I’m pretty sure they had a law against it.

I heard them getting closer with each stride they took, but I couldn’t run any faster. I had already reached my limit.

Just when I was about to give up, I saw it. It was just a flash of light, but I recognized it.

Caleb’s knife.

Its reflection.

They must’ve heard the howls and known I needed backup.

They were here. My team was here.

I stopped dead on my tracks and turned to face the werewolves.

Now, we would fight.


2 thoughts on “Chased

Leave a Reply

