Books and All Their Issues

What is it with the same characters in every single book there is to be read? I mean, come on! There’s the hero, with his/her witty/sardonic best friend, aka sidekick. There’s the love interest, which is like the most hated person by the main character at the beginning of the story or he’s a bad boy/girl. I mean, come on! Almost every book I’ve read in my life is the same, only that the characters have different names. Oh, speaking of, what is it with characters’ names nowadays? I mean, come on! Never in my life have I met anyone named Cerynise, Lierin, Synnovea, Whaini, Gazelle, Respushia,  Zarek, Saniblihm, Adecyn, Kitton, or Bandyt… I mean, come on! I don’t even know how to pronounce half of these! What happened to Anna, or Kyle, or even like Savanna? Do they really have to pick those names that no one can even pronounce? Whenever I read a book where I don’t know how to pronounce the name I usually just go like “… and then gibberish did…”. I mean, come on. Use normal names. Or at least ones that look like they’re from this planet.

Okay, I’ll admit I love to read a cliche book every once in a while, but that doesn’t mean every book should be the same! I love being surprised when I’m reading a book. Like, ‘oh, I had no idea she was gonna end up with him’ or ‘wow, I had no idea this character was gonna die such a horrible death’ or ‘I had no idea the main character was the killer this whole time’. THOSE books are pretty awesome. Or maybe I’m like completely wrong and I’m the only one that thinks this, but I seriously hope not.

Anyway, lemme know what you think, or what horrible and unpronounceable names you’ve encountered in books. Or any good/bad cliche’s? Surprising books? I need more to read, anyway, so I can pretend I don’t have summer reading to do for school.

Leave a Reply

